top of page

Sunday Bloody Funday Interviews Kearjun


Recenty I did an interview with Kearjun, a Chinese artist that has come up with these frightfully delightful resin masterpieces. Kear Jun (Kearjun) is from China and has been sculpting with resin for the last three years. He plans to keep working with it at least for the near future.

YouZha (The Green figure) and GooDon (The Yellow figure) are both equally odd and obscure.

Tell us how you got into Designing artistic figures?

Because toys in the market can’t satisfy my needs, and I have a past history with sculpting, I decided to make my own toys. Did you collect any action figures as a child, and did they inspire any of your artistic figure creations? No, I don’t collect action figures but I collect NECA horror figures. ANT toys are quite inspiring to my creations. I love their sculptures. Do you have a favorite line of action or art figures(besides your own), if so what are they? It’s really difficult to answer. I can't say I have one favorite line as their are so many wonderful toy lines out there. I really like Nagnagnag Toys and plan on watching their future lines. Do you find Social media a good place to promote your work,does it help you to reach a different audience from around the World? Yes, I really appreciate social platforms now exist. I can really reach many new fans and make new contacts all around the World. This helps me to get the word out about my new creations. Kearjun gets inspiration for his toy ideas from the movies of Lucio Fulci ( an Italian horror director). He watches horror movies for the visuals to inspire him, with the sound turned off.

When asked about how long it takes to construct a figure Kearjun said the planning stages take some time, but once he has a vision he works from start to finish without any stoppages. "Taking a break takes away from the charm."

Do you have any newly released figures you’ve finished recently that you’d like to share with our readers? GooDon is my latest released figure. It’s a big guy. Two headed giant, he has to be big, Of course I’m creating some new figures, they might be creepy or weird, may be naughty or cute. I can’t forecast what my brain is thinking, so please keep on following my Instagram: kearjun. What would be the number one most important thing you would tell a would be artist wanting to get into making their own figures? Do what you want to do, don’t think about selling, follow your creative instincts. Have you ever wanted to attempt something totally different from what your used to creating, say like a super hero like Ultraman or Kamen Rider? I always liked soft vinyl figures by Bullmark (Japanese). I would never work on superheroes and I like damaged, creepy more than happy things.

Kearjun says he got into designing and creating figures out of sheer boredom and the monotony of everyday life.

That's all folks and Happy soon to be 2016. EH!!!

bottom of page