top of page

Bots + Monsters Sits Down with Daniel Yu


Daniel Yu is a Singaporean sculptor who works primarily in the medium of clay and resin. Heavily influenced by an upbringing steeped in local tradition, as well as pop culture ephemera, his works combine both worlds of imagination. His investigations center on the intrinsic value of memory and the use of storytelling as a tool that highlights social and cultural similarities. Daniel's works offer a means of escapism from the real world, yet remain largely shaped by his personal experiences. His fictitious characters see a cult following amongst the urban and subculture art scene in both Singapore and abroad.

Some works that I thought best represent Daniel's Visions are:

-Lunar Creep -This 3.2" tall resin figure is a zombiefied Astronaut. This guys truly out of this world. - Jiangshi Acolyte - This literal hopping zombie stands 3" tall and is made out of resin material. I personally love the idea of the traditional Asian Jiangshi zombie because what's scarier than a zombie not walking but hopping after you. - Darwin - Darwin is a departure from the zombie themed characters that Daniel has designed and produced. This 3" tall resin figure is a wolf in human's clothing. Is his name a nod to Darwin's theory of evolution? I think so and I love it.

"Darwinism is a theory of biological evolution developed by the English naturalist Charles Darwin and others, stating that all species of organisms arise and develop through the natural selection of small, inherited variations that increase the individual's ability to compete, survive, and reproduce."

So now that you've seen some of Daniel Yu's designer figures, lets get to know him through my sit down with him. Q: So Daniel, I hope that's alright to call you Daniel. How did you get started in the Business of making your own figures ?

A: It started out as a hobby where I used to kit bash figures, creating characters that toy companies had yet to make. Q: If anything, or anyone influenced you in your Designs, who or what might that be?

A: There's such a diverse number of things that I draw inspiration from. I particularly like folktales or literary works which allow me to create visuals from the content I read.

Q: Take us through the process(Start to finish) on how do a figure( any steps you think necessary please include).

A: First comes the concept and look of the character, next is the sculpting phase, followed by the molding and casting process, cleaning up the casts, assembling/painting the piece. Q: Is creating figures and art a passion and a hobby or do you want to someday see a line of toys in Stores for all to enjoy ?

A: I've been at it full time for the last couple of years. Q: How would you describe your Figures and art to someone who was blind?

A: tiny nuggets of plastic that have a lot of heart put into it.

Q: What if Anything do you collect ?( Figure wise or art wise)

A: I try to be selective of the figures that I buy nowadays, I do collect a fair bit of NECA and Four Horsemen stuff. Q: Would you ever want to learn a different process of doing figures ? say Sofubi or something other than what you know right now ?

A: Sure, I'm all for trying out different mediums where appropriate

Q: Your figures are so fun and original, Do the ideas for them just come to you?

A: Definitely not, as mentioned I draw inspiration from a whole array of things, I suppose how I portray them is what makes them "original" Q:have you ever had a hard time on coming up with something to create, or do you always have something on the go?

A: I keep a notebook of ideas with me at all times so not really.

Q: Is there something your working on right now(even if in the early stages) can you share exclusively with our readers?

A: Working on new sculpts for the year, nothing to show just yet!

I want to thank Daniel Yu for taking the time to sit down and let us get to know him and his works a little bit better. Please take the time and follow Daniel Yu on Facebook and check out his Website.

Later Eh!

bottom of page