top of page

Bots + Monsters Voltron Time

I remember waking up as a child and being excited every Saturday morning because I knew I was going to get some good cartoon time in. I would start with some Scooby-Doo and the gang, the adventures of the Galaxy Rangers, Blackstar, and the the behemoth that was Voltron. Voltron started as a joint venture between World Events Productions and Toei Animation. In Japan it was known as Beast King GoLion. So basically the show is just a thrill ride from start to finish, You get a giant super robot and the team of astronauts that pilot this metal Goliath.

I would get my toys out and act out the scenes from the show. All five pilots and their Robot lion machines would work their way around a future era Universe and my parent's TV room. We would protect the bowl (better known as Planet Arus) from the Evil King Zarkon, All the while also protecting Planet Arus's leader Princess Allura (I think I used a Princess Leia figure instead).

The figures and vehicles I played with were made by Matchbox toys and Diecast. I think I ended up selling this as a child at a garage sale to save up for a Sega Genesis (I regret it to this day). I believe I had most of the original figures as a child too, From Astronauts Lance,Hunk to bad guys like the evil Witch Haggar and Robeast Mutilor (which was a creation of Haggars).

Robeast Mutilor was deployed to Planet Arus, in the Coffin of Darkness to do battle with Voltron. The funny thing is this figure never made an appearance in the cartoon. I liked him though because well the Coffin of Darkness.

There's been many different Voltron TV series over the years and many different lines of toys. Matchbox, Panosh Place, Trendmasters, Toynami, Mattel, and most recently Funko have all tested the waters very well with their lines. My favorite (and the only one I've ever owned) will always be Matchbox. It could be the memories of connecting my Voltron together to fight evil, or it could be the memories of those long lost Saturday mornings.

Voltron Also has made it's way to written material in the form of comics. In 1985 Modern comics released a three issue mini series based off the Lion Voltron TV show. 2002 saw Devil's due release a five issue mini series (through Image comics) which featured the Lion Voltron. In 2011 Dynamite Entertainment and Viz kids both announced plans to release comics based on the Voltron license. Viz kids released graphic novels called "Voltron Force". Finally 2015 saw the release of the planned release from Dynamite Entertainment entitled "Voltron: From The Ashes" written by Cullen Bunn with art by Blacky Shepherd.

Now Netflix/Dreamworks team up to bring us “Voltron”. The series will be called Voltron: Legendary Defender. The first 13 22-minute episodes will hit Netflix June 10. voice cast includes: Steven Yeun (The Walking Dead) as Keith, Jeremy Shada (Adventure Time) as Lance, Bex Taylor-Klaus (Arrow) as Pidge, Josh Keaton (Green Lantern: The Animated Series) as Shiro (formerly "Sven"), Tyler Labine (Tucker and Dale vs. Evil) as Hunk, Kimberly Brooks (Mass Effect) as Princess Allura, and Rhys Darby (Flight of the Conchords) as Coran. The evil King Zarkon will be voiced by Neil Kaplan (Transformers: Robots in Disguise).

Break out your new and old Voltron toys and get ready to play along this June! Later EH!!!

bottom of page