top of page

Behind The Figure: Scott Tolleson


Tell us some basics about you, Scott Tolleson, your family and where you were raised....

I was born and raised in Atlanta, Ga. At the age of 16 I moved with my mother to Southern California. After graduating from High School I obtained a BFA in Illustration at California State University, Fullerton. While attending CSUF I landed a great job at Disneyland as a Graphic Designer in Creative Entertainment. That was back in ’98. Today I am still at the Mouse where I am an Art Director working on many dream projects. I am married with two kids, Lyla and Piper in Whittier, Ca. Doing my best to balance out a professional and family life every day.

Was there a day when you got a “WOW” moment and realised what you should be doing with your life? Can you remember it and describe it for us?

I feel like there were many moments like this. At Disney these moments seem to happen every 5 years or so. Recently, Disney acquired the Star Wars property. I have been a lifelong Star Wars fan so I was particularly excited about the acquisition. Last year I was put on a couple of Star Wars projects. At that moment I realized I was doing something I dreamt of as a kid. There were also many landmark moments as a toy designer, the latest being winning “Artist of the Year” at the Clutter Toy Awards. That was such a great night with many memories. After reflecting on that event I’ve pretty much decided that I will be making toys for a very long time.

Which is the most pleasurable part of what you do?

I thoroughly enjoy the design process of making toys. I feel that it’s the most creative and important part of the toy production process. I also love to sculpt. Although I don’t have much extra time to sculpt, I find it very therapeutic.

How do you prefer people to refer to you if they are doing this in the third person? For example in an interview with someone you have never met who really has no clue about you apart from the art you produce.

The safest sort of title I think you could refer to me as is “designer”. Since I feel like I have many plates spinning, it would be hard to say I’m a painter, customizer, designer, sculptor… Since I enjoy doing all those things it would just be easiest to refer to me as Toy Designer or Toy Artist.

What do you tell people you do and does your job description change depending on who is asking the questions?

I just tell them I’m an artist/designer. For most people that’s enough. Unless I mention the word “Disney”. If “Disney” comes up then it seems to always turn into an interview. But that’s okay for me.

It’s really difficult sometimes explaining to people what a Designer Toy Artist is. If I’m really trying to explain what I do I usually start with asking if the person knows what Kidrobot is. It’s an easy place to start. I typically feel out whether the person is really interested or not. If they are genuinely curious I usually explain more in depth what it is that I do. If the person loses interest, I just say something like “I make toys based on my art.” Something like that.

People have the idea that the life of a successful artist is a constant and crazy whirl of fun and candy - discuss.

People think that??? Well, I agree that it’s a constant and crazy whirl, but mostly it doesn’t include the fun and candy part. For me it’s a constant spinning of many plates. There are things that I’m not big on but feel I must do to remain active. These things include marketing, keeping up with emails, figuring out numbers for projects. Usually the less creative things are never fun. My favourite times are when things are going smooth and I can focus on being creative. I live for those moments.

Do you come back to work over and over, or do you drive on and complete work in one go without hesitation?

I have the attention span of a goldfish. When I feel like I have an idea worth exploring I have to attack it. If an idea sits in my head or in the sketch pad for too long I tend to lose interest. I can usually visualize the final and that’s enough for me to move on to something else. I admire artists who are able to constantly explore and evolve ideas throughout their career. It’s kind of focus I don’t have.

When you work - are you locked down without interruptions or do you need people around you ?

Haha. I LOVE not being interrupted when I work but at this time in my life it’s simply not an option. Interruptions are just something I’m having to deal with.

Do you have a process when it comes to being under pressure to create a piece of work or does it just happen without too much trouble?

This depends on the project I guess. If I’m under the gun on a large project that I know I can’t get completed in time alone, I usually recruit some art friends to help out with. I have a nice core of friends that I enjoy working with. I try to bring them in any time I can.

Can you name artists you feel affected what you produce and explain why?

There’s a long list here! Since I’m inspired by multiple subject matters I feel like my favourite artist list spans the gamut. This list may seem random but here it is. Frank Kozik, Michael Lau, Pete Fowler, Doze Green, Dalek, Andrew Bell, Chris Ryniak, Julie West, and Luke Chueh are a few that pop into mind.

If you had to show someone one piece of work that you will always be proud of no matter what, which piece would it be and why that piece?

This answer changes constantly. At this point in time, I’m a fan of the 8” Lotus Dragon Dunny. I’m currently working on releasing the APs of this Dunny and I’m really excited to share the full reveal. It’s a conversation piece that I think should be at the top of the list of Tolleson Toys.

Can you walk us through from inspiration to final production piece?

For me inspiration comes from many places. The first questions to myself are, what kind of piece do I want to work on? Is it a cute piece, beautiful, scary…? How could I make this piece fit into my body of work? I try to make the production process as organic as possible. Each project is completely different. What I want to happen and what actually happens doesn’t matter.

Is it important to you how people see you as a human being regardless of your achievements professionally?

I am a robot and I need to be loved.

There is what appears to be branding accents and influences to some of your work - is this something you are conscious of or is this just part of the process of creating for you ?

Most things I do seem to be random. I think this happens because of my many interests. I just want to work on projects I find to be entertaining. The branding accents aren’t always intentional but when they are I think most people can pick up on it.

Is there an area of art toy creation you are looking forward to exploring but haven’t had the chance to yet?

A couple of things I would love to do. One, I would love an opportunity to be a creative head at either an existing toy company or my own. I love collaborating with other artists and think I could do a good job at either growing an existing brand or starting one of my own. The idea of a collaborative artist group excites me.

Second, I would love to dive more into sculpting. It’s something I picked up somewhat recently and would love to find more time to do it.

Do you have something happening right now or in the very near future that Scott Tolleson fans really need to know about?

Yes!!! My Odd Ones Dunny series was recently announced by Kidrobot. It’s a project that was started roughly two years ago. It’s nice to finally see the release is on the horizon. The series is sculpt heavy and incorporates many things that inspire me. I’m proud of the time and effort that I put into it. I hope others will be excited too.

This is your chance to say whatever you want Scott - this will be published unedited and completely as you write this. If you had the chance to tell people honestly about why you do what you do, what would you say ?

I make toys because I can’t imagine a life where I don’t.

QUICKFIRE QUESTIONS

  • Favorite color? Turquoise

  • Favorite medium to work with? Sculpey Firm

  • Favorite food? Sushi

  • Favorite movie? Tough one. Akira is in top 3

  • Super hero power you wish you possessed? Hulk strength

  • Marooned on a deserted island, what 3 objects would you have with you? iPhone, snacks, a nice house

  • If you could meet any person (dead or alive) who would it be? Walt Disney

  • Punk or Funk? Punk

  • Money's no object - what do you do first? I relax for a bit. Then I start my own toy company bringing in my favourite artists and friends to work with.

bottom of page