top of page

Kaleidoscopic Flair + Other Stories Yet To Be Told


NORWEGIAN RHAPSODY: Have you seen the work of Oslo's Remjie Malham? This young lady has only been at the art of 'monstering' for less than a decade, but there is definitely something purcolating on all burners that we can't keep quiet about. Most of her small works are unique or in very small editions (5 or less!). Her style has it's own je ne sai qua combining Asian influences with hints of post-Jim Henson for her very own unique aesthetic.

NEO-HIPPY MEETS INVERTED NATURE: We are drawn to both her sculpting abilities and whoa, then we are delighted by her very deft choice of wildly chromatic colors, often variegated, but never lost in translation. The creations coming from her studio are worthy of gallery shows with seasoned pros, even with her penchant for a special dash of folksi-ness, for good measure. Our absolute favorite to date is the hairless Canadian cat-zilla (OMG - we hope to nab one to review up close n' personal for all of you). Catch her on Instagram for the latest/greatest. When we recently asked her about the work she had this to share: "I have been excited about monsters all my life! I tried sculpting for the first time in 2008 and since then I was making monsters full time. Colourful crazy looking creatures with many teeth and eyes have always been something I've been very excited about, and one of the main subjects in my art."

Don't just take my word for it, feast your eyes....

Remjie went on to tell us: "During the past few years I've managed to get all the equipment required for quality resin casting and silicone molding right in my tiny apartment studio. Its a heavy process and I’ve been through a lot of tries and fails but thanks to that I have learned a lot about creating complex and simple toy and doll designs."

She continued: "Also lately I have been genuinely excited about customizing sofubi. After attending to my first toy convention and seeing all those cool vinyl toys in person I couldn’t resist trying to customise some myself. I paint my toys with acrylics using airbrush for the base with smooth gradient and do the rest with the brushes. It takes quite some time to create each piece, but at the end I am always 100% happy with how it turned out! Hopefully in the forceable future I’ll manage to establish production of my own sofubi designs."

All photos courtesy Remjie Malham

Save

bottom of page