top of page

Catching Up With Firestarter Design


The creamy pastels and plump design of Firestarter Design's latest resin concoctions are affectionately called 'Candy Darumao'. I was immediately transported to a pack of Tropical Lifesavers. Artist Sarah Isabel Tan brought us Noodles which we reviewed last year. I caught up with her to find out about these new figures and other works cooking in the studio....

When asked what inspired the new pastel set she shared: "I've always had a fondness for cute things, cats and kooky Japanese things.. Like daruma. I was just doing some absent minded scribbling when I drew a rough daruma shape and added cat features to it. When I realized how cute it was I started refining the design until Darumao was born! I have 6 candy colours; cotton candy, key lime, Orange creamsicle, lemonade, blueberry and boysenberry." I'm a citrus man myself, the orange and lime ones look like fruity fun. We are showing those lovelies off here (and they are only $25 + worth every penny):

With those now available she also told me about a few other goins-on: "Also have black and white blanks but I've sold out of the black. I do hand painted Darumao also in their classic red/black/gold combo and sometimes do little custom one off pieces".

Since she's Singapore-based I thought I'd ask about attendance at this year's amazing looking SGTCC: "I'm not officially tabling at Stgcc, actually doing some guerrilla marketing and selling stuff out of backpack including stickers and my new darumao pin. But I am kinda hanging out at my friends booth, AA86 Rex Regrets so that would be where to find me in general. I'm also bringing a pikachu variant with me today so we'll see how that goes." Watch for her whizzing by and stop by her buddy's booth if you are there in person.

Save

bottom of page