top of page

A Convention Is A Convention Is A Convention


OK, so don't take it from me as a convention virgin. Among many of my readers and geek-brethren from another mutha, I am, for sure, in the minority. Though if you were like me (pity party moment) you would not be too partial to waist bending crowds and wallet-bustin' good times. Mind you (and you, and you) I'm all for the latter, the good times provided by the sweet reveal of stylish new vinyl goodness, oh yes! But, like many back-breaking fellow guys and gals I am too susceptible to pull out ye olde chip card in order to fill my super-sized shopping bag with things that sparkle, shine and even glow-in-the-dark! So I guess I'm one of those outsiders who doesn't get swallowed up in the sea of "just take my money" thinking. But that makes me, in my role here, more of an observer from a distance. Though I love interaction, I love community, and prefer to see and touch in real-time, anything I purchase. So, I'm left wanting, toys taunting....

I'm not really claustrophobic, I just do not like super-large crowds, lines/waiting and the like. Geek people's problems, I guess! And here we are just slightly over the climax of "convention season" if you can even call it that since these gatherings draw international crowds year round, often, in many people's view, culminating in San Diego in July. But right now we are chin-high in two simultaneous wonders in the geek-o-sphere with New York Comic Con and Taipei Toy Festival (better known as their acronymns: NYCC + TTF). Both are live and full-tilt-boogie in the moment. I'm a fly on the wall, and love perusing pictures provided by some web guru colleagues out there doing a great job of live coverage...namely: ToyArk and VinylPulse - while most of the other popular blogs have, like me, done their very best to keep the rest of us lubed for the events now in session.

With the changes in the air, the autumn breezes, (rose filter removed) the hurricanes and floods, we are psychologically prepared for change. Mind you, I am hardly a naysayer, much the opposite. But from a real perspective it just costs too much in time and money to travel when you can see lots of what a convention has to offer, sometimes months before you take the plunge. I'm speaking for myself, and perhaps for a few folks that want to admit it. That said, the fact that these events exist are truly awesome for, especially, the mom and pop brick and mortar shops who have a better opportunity to reach a broader audience. That and, of course, the reveler collectors who want a first-time opportunity to use all their senses (and other pennies) to indulge in opportunities that might pass them by otherwise.

Enter the Convention Exclusive. The whole purpose of a convention, in general terms, is to be a gathering place for vendors to show-off their latest and greatest wares. This is brilliant by design for both toymakers/merchants and those who love them. Admittedly, that's most of us. For those who dismay over sold out items from Munky King, Kidrobot, BlackBook Toy, Instinct, 1000toys, Frank Kozik, Ron English and countless others -- it's time to rejoice over new colorways, second editions and the like. The exclusives are often in short runs and nine times out of ten are even more interesting than the predecessor. There, right there, lay the crux. Why not just wait? Well, the answer is, basic anticipation and doubt. Not all designer toys are made to have multiple colorways. There seem to be more these days, but that is pretty responsive to initial sales. So, right there, conventions serve a very valid and honorable purpose to the consumer, and the whole reason for being in the first place.

On some days I (secretly) scoff at big corporate business, and with very researched purpose, and these conventions, to a degree are just that. Though, since we pretty much do not cover most licensed type work, and are more concerned with independent toymakers and artists we are in the clear right? Nope. I'd say on average, a con the size of NYCC will have less than 10-15% independent toymakers represented, probably for some of the previously mentioned reasons. Hey, everyone is there to make or spend some earnings on collectibles and fun stuff, so what's the risk, the harm? In essence there is no harm done, unless you are scrutinizing the overall environmental impact which I am not (though it is always something to consider). But the larger question is looking at what we really want as opposed to need. So, the 'tween part of that is pretty much left up to the ways and means of both salesmanship and whatever pin money you got on hand.

CONVENTION FEVER PITCH: In closing it would be remiss of me to get your feedback on your very own convention experiences as a collector, a vendor, runner, or what have you. Have you been able to be, as I feel, a 'fly on the wall' while in attendance and abstain from over-spending? Have you had to go on a diet after breaking the budget and returning from a foreign place? Did you sell out your booth? We are curious and open to all of your opinions and welcome you to share this with your colleagues and toy buds. I am thrilled to say that I have gotten up much hutspah in order to potentially attend my very first convention, Designer Con, this November. It's incredibly affordable, slated perfectly for two days and will be jam packed with things that interest me, not the masses. It feels right. And I will be in somewhat of a roving reporter role. I like the idea of keeping it as independent as possible. Perhaps the debut of Curio Con, Designer Toy Summit or the sophomore year for Toy Con UK might be in my future (I'm way overdue a trip to London)? Cosplay and big blockbuster trailers are not really my speed....instead it will be baby steps into the unknown. A new world of possibilities awaits.

bottom of page