top of page

The Astronaut Taking Off by Alex Pardee x ToyQube


Guess who landed in the Go Figure News studio this past week?! Oh, it's a wild duo from deep space, or in a more direct vernacular Alex Pardee's The Astronaut. The vividly colored figure was well constructed and produced by ToyQube. And I tell you exactly how I feel in this video review - and I'm super specific herein:

LIFE ON MARS IS DAYGLO: Released back in May, the figure has virtually vansihed from availability as its sister colorway has just arrived in the form of the Abominable Edition. Pardee's characters are wildly imaginative with flourishes of psychedelic surrealism built inside. They are immediate and thoughtful, and this in particular seems to be a bit of a short story gone way wrong, and it's all good (perfect for the Halloween season actually). The Astronaut is probably the figure I was most looking forward to deciphering this year, and, again I do not hold back on my (unbiased) opinion. ;) I guess you'll just have to sit back and click. It's more than just pretty pictures, but that is not going to discourage me from sharing a bunch of outtakes with you here:

bottom of page