top of page

Customarily The Go-Team Welcomes Jase


Introducing Jase Marshall....Who hell is this guy???

Well let me tell ya! My name is Jase Marshall and I run a little custom and collectible shop called Marshall Made Collectibles in the foothills of North Carolina. I make custom figures and accessories, as well as work as a reseller and toy broker.

A little about myself - well I just celebrated my 47th birthday and I'm the father of three with my oldest in her 2nd year and college and my youngest about to enter high school next year. By trade I'm a nurse. I've been one for close to 25 years. I started out working in the hospital system and now I do home health working with children and young adults who have suffered spinal injuries and are ventilator dependent to just breathe. After seeing what these young men and women deal with in a daily basis it makes one realize that you don't really have any problems, or any right to complain, and everyday I count my blessings.

So what kind of toy work do I do? I mainly work in 1/6 scale but I've done quite a few customs that are MEGO inspired figures as well. I love the medium in any form or scale. I've been making figures going back some 30 years. I sculpt, re-sculpt, mold, cast, paint, sew, heck you name it I've done it and continue to do it. I truly love my bench time because it's my personal fortress of solitude. Mine just happens to be located in my basement and I don't have to freeze my ass off to get to it....take that Superman. Even though I've been doing figures as long as I have what seems to bring more people to my door was after I won Grand Prize and First Place at the SDCC Captain Action custom action figure contest a few years back in 2014. I was happy to place but I end up taking the two top spots and it was quiet a shot in the arm. The contest was judged by industry greats:

• J. C. Vaughn, Vice President, The Overstreet Comic Book Price Guide • Marv Wolfman, Legendary Comics Creator (New Teen Titans, Black Cat,Blade) • Daniel (Julius Marx) Pickett, Action Figure Insider • Michael Polis, Atomic Toybox Entertainment, Wildbrain and Yo Gabba Gabba • Michael Crawford, Captain Toy, MWC Toys • Joseph Petrollese, Design Director, Tonner Doll • Moderator: Ed Catto, Captain Action Enterprises, LLC

After my wins my little shop blew up and has never stopped. I know most people say it's nice to just be mentioned or considered....which is true, but it's even sweeter to win....twice.

Besides making figures and custom pieces I also run a review channel on YouTube working with companies like ACI, Pangaea Toys, Kaustic Plastik and others. I'm a little different than most of the guys out there that do reviews. How so? I just do a straight forward reviews with plenty of HD shots of the figure and packaging at the end...I don't joke do skits or act silly and never feel the need to put myself in front of the camera. The channel is based on the product not myself. I have a family if I need a hug. I try to access the points I'd be interested in...which has developed a small but loyal following. I also routinely post current projects on my Facebook page.

What's in my collection? Well I have a lot of product that comes through my door (just ask my Mail Carrier....she hates me) but not much or any of it finds a permanent residence within my house. I do however have a huge soft spot for a Japanese character by the name of Golgo 13, and I have one of the largest collections of Golgo 13 items in North America. Now that isn't as impressive as it may sound because unless you're a fan that statement has about as much weight as saying I have the world's largest Cheeto. In fact I'm sure more people would be impressed with the Cheeto.

I also have a deep love for a line called Real Heroes. Real Heroes was a toy line celebrating police and fire fighters and it was developed by Kirk Bozigian and Don Levine. For those that don't know (....and shame, shame, shame) Don Levine was the father of the action figure and creator of GI Joe. These figures original were offered by Ertl and featured the 1966 GI Joe type body which Don owned the rights to. I'm proud to own the original 28 only known prototypes for a line called Work Force which was to be an extension of the Real Heroes line. Sadly it never got off the ground and Don passed away before that could happen. I'm also currently working on putting together a guide book with the help of Kirk Bozigian (who was the VP of boys toys for Hasbro) based on both of these lines and all of their incarnations.

That might sound like I have more irons in the fire than a blacksmith with 12 arms but I like to keep busy....so when TJ asked if I'd be interested in contributing to Go Figure News....well you know my answer was, Yes! (Publisher Note: And we are thrilled to have you here Jase!)

So looking forward to adding some fun and interesting articles and hope you join me for the ride!

bottom of page