top of page

Opinion: The (Art of) Toy Lotteries


The art toy lottery is something that some artists dabble in and something I as a collector am not a fan of in terms of format. It’s understandable why certain artists do it. It gives the opportunity for everyone to have a chance to purchase a limited run piece. This type of scenario does not limit those who are waiting on the clock, those who are quick on the click to snatch up every piece. I guess it also allows control for those who do win to only purchase a single piece (unit) rather than the whole lot available. What I have tended to find is that of the pieces I have made an attempt to go after in a lottery format and have not been able to purchase, I only end up finding them a few weeks later on eBay for more than they paid for them (stay tuned for a follow-up piece on that!). But this also happens a lot with all types of toys and items that sell out. Which I understand is capitalism, and so forth, but it doesn’t mean I have to agree with it. Also, I have not been lucky enough to win in a lottery. So maybe I am salty in the matter. You know you have to wish there was a better way and we all have our ideas for what is best. I personally just like to know the drop time of the piece and then go after it. If I get one, I get one and if I don’t then that is life. What I’d like to know is what do the artist think and why do they choose to do the lottery format? What do you as the collectors feel about the toy lottery and the simple drop date/time of a piece? Let’s start the conversation and see where it takes us. Let's change the world one toy sale at a time.

bottom of page