top of page

Customizers Beware: Crack Kills!!!


...Vintage figures, anyway. If you collect vintage GI Joe's or Captain Action, even Marx Figures we all dread finding these cracks on our 'precious' (Gollum Gollum!) but as sure as gray hair (okay white hair, jeeez!) invades my chin - finding figures who suffer these ailments is more and more common. It is also the question I'm asked the most. How to fix these problems. The problem honestly is there is no perfect fix. This isn't Steve Austin so your not going to make him better than he was before, but I can show you a simple, quick, inexpensive cure to prevent the problem from getting worst. Also it won't cost you 6 million dollars.....

Throughout this piece are a few photos of a leg with a serious ankle crack. Untreated the crack would spread leaving the part useless...a $1 roll of 1/2" electrical tape and about 5 seconds....and he is Healed! All Praise The Plastic Gods! Read onward....First, I will address some methods others preach. Now I'm not knocking any of these because all of them hold merit, but none of them prevent future cracks or spreading of old ones - or at the very least are costly, messy, and require a bit more skill than your average collector is willing or wanting to do.

The Melting Pot - Yes, there are methods of melting similar plastic, pouring into cracks and sanding or melting it smooth. Problem is most of these cures are purely cosmetic and do not secure the "crack" or prevent as the plastic gets older from continuing to split. It's also messy, easy to get burned, or ended up with a part that looks worse than when you started - again this depends on your skill level.

Bonding with Bondic. Bondic is a great product to fill gaps. Unfortunately, the poly-based plastic used on our 12" loved ones from the 70's has an oily base which doesn't like glue and Bondic is no exception. It will fill gaps then you can use ultraviolet light to harden the product - but again it's purely cosmetic and it won't stop the crack from spreading or enlarging. It's not really messy, but a half ounce of Bondic runs about $15-$20 sooooooo.....it's not terribly expensive but for something that's not going to stop the crack why bother?

Glue, Apoxie, Resins, and Cement. Ahhh.....all these products are my bread in butter at MMC so I'm all for them right??? Buzzzzzzzz! Nope, again the plastic from these vintage pieces do not like glue. Zap-A-Gap I've had moderate success with, but again, I've had more failures than successes. Messy....God yes...and expensive depending on if you are using quality products...yes....and easy to use. Again, unless you have the right product and the moons are aligned it will all be for not. As 9 times out of 10 your glue won't dry or adhere to the plastic....and more will be on your workspace or fingers than your figure.

Now I know there will be dozens (I'm not exaggerating) of people who will message me and say I've had success with product B or you should have mentioned 'this' item as it works every time or "I've melted plastic for years".....again that's great and happy for you, but I'm offering a super simple way to help cracks from getting worse and tighten these areas inexpensively and easily - that anyone, and I mean anyone, can do it. So, for those people congratulations and likely this article is not for you.

Did I invent this process, hell no. I'm sure I saw some Joe collector do it years back and I was thrilled with the results....then I plagiarized the process. What? Copying is the sincerest form of flattery.

Wrap Method. To do the wrap method that's it....you wrap the length of the crack in poly plastic type tape (electrical tape) tightly. I use a 1/2" hobby electrical tape - cost about $1-$2 (Cheap. Check!) an X-acto blade to cut it...but, you can use scissors, your sister's buckteeth, or your razor, a friendly beaver.....whatever works for you or is handy. I start at the base of the crack and tightly wrap the affected area and that's it. I've had success where vintage figures in my collection with cracked knees, biceps, ankle and wrist joints - you name it....cracks everywhere, but there little butts. Some of these figures have been in my possession over 20+ years and the cracks have not got any worst or spread. I also do this as a prophylactic measure. Wrapping vintage CA and Joe's knees, biceps, and ankles to prevent cracks. I'm huge on restoration without alteration - so if I sell the piece to someone doesn't like the wraps all they have to do is unwrap it. Sounds simple because it is and sometimes simple is best.

Anyway I figured I would post this because I got this very question 5 times this week from different friends and followers and I'm always happy to share.

Thanks and Take Care ~

Jase Marshall

* Jase is a Customizer, Reviewer, Fabricator, Toy Broker who has been running Marshall Made Collectibles (MMC) out of the foothills of NC for close to two decades.

bottom of page