top of page

Bots + Monsters: Crazy for Cthulu by Lego


Those who know me know I'm a big Cthulhu fan. Brought to life by Howard Phillips Lovecraft (August 20, 1890 – March 15, 1937) who was an American author who achieved fame posthumously. Lovecraft's horror fiction has lived on from generation to generation. One of his most celebrated tales is "The Call of Cthulhu". The Cthulhu's anatomy is described as part octopus, part man, and part dragon.

It only makes sense that some Cthulhu fans would decide to use little Danish plastic blocks to construct an unearthly monster going far beyond what most of us can fathom, doesn't it!?. Here are a select few killer Cthulhu dioramas to feast your eyes on. Most of the artists do their own take and put to use their vision of what Cthulhu would look like if he decided to show himself upon the world. One thing that is a staple throughout these scene of blockular magic our the giant Octopus-like tentacles. While most of our artists here decide to keep Cthulhu grounded, a select few show off a behemoth sky scraping Creature from the things nightmares are made of.

Does Cthulhu have something against infrastructures, it would seem so from the dioramas shown. He's depicted busting through walls, thrusting from deep underground through roads. I also assume he has a taste for human. Many Lego lovers seem to be in great distress in these scenes. One thing is for sure, These Cthulhu Lego scenes are done with amazing care and love for the H.P Lovecraft Cthulhu.

I was thinking if people can come up with these amazing scenes using Lego, what other creatures can we hope to see Built with Blocks? I stumbled upon some very cool designs, here are a few I'll share with you. First one I searched for was Godzilla and, of course, someone had done one. Standing tall he's ready for an attack from any rival.

A close 2nd for me to the Cthulhu is the Kraken, they both has similar features. When I looked of course their were full dioramas of scenes with the Kraken released and causing havoc. The last in my searches brought me to the King of Kong. I found many different Kongs, but this one stood out to me. It's simple little scene of Kong standing over the apple of his eye Ann Darrow. Some sets I would have loved to have seen are The Thing from John Carpenter's movie, Daimajin (from Japanese movies), and the Cloverfield monster.

In closing Lego has always sparked imagination in people minus boundaries to the possibilities these blocks present. If Lego hasn't released a set of your favorite monster or creature, just go out and show them how it's done and build it yourself. Later Eh! (Oh, yeah, and Like Us on Facebook since we are having a giveaway very soon!)

Comments


bottom of page